保持安全,避免诈骗

保持安全,避免诈骗

 

诈骗者可能会试图欺骗您,让您认为他们可以收费帮您支付房贷或房产税。这些诈骗者可能会误导您他们可以帮助更改您的贷款或提供其他救济方案以避免止赎(foreclosure),并且通常会告知您在提供服务前需要先收费。这是非法行为,请记住以下三点,更好地保护自己免于成为受害者。

 

1

加州房贷救济计划是由加州住房金融局 (CalHFA) 房主救济公司 (Homeowner Relief Corporation) 提供的一项免费服务,旨在通过财务援助帮助房主付清积欠的房贷付款和房产税。申请无需任何费用,您也无需因任何原因支付任何费用。

 

2

您获得的经济援助永远不必偿还。授予的款项作为补助金提供,也就是说不需要偿还。

 

3

补助金将直接由加州房贷救济计划缴交至您的贷款服务机构或县政府的税收机构,以帮助您支付逾期的款项。

诈骗者可能会逼迫您马上采取行动。要顶住让您马上采取行动的压力。

止赎过程缓慢而复杂,涉及好几个法律程序,必须在可能面临失去住房之前全部完成,这让您有时间申请援助。如有疑问,请使用可信赖的通讯方式联系房贷服务机构。可以使用每月房贷对账单找到该机构的联系信息。

 

诈骗者可能使用的其他策略:

  •  诈骗者可能会要求仅通过银行本票或电汇付款。诈骗者喜欢这种付款方式,因为钱很难要回来。
  •  诈骗者可能会试图说服您将房产证转到其名下。         房产证是证明房屋所有者的法律文件。
  •  诈骗者会想出不同的故事来迫使您给他们付钱。 对诈骗者的出现方式有一些了解有助于避免受骗。
  •  What scammers say: They’re housing counselors, they’re lawyers, they represent a law firm, or they’re from the government. The scammers say they’ll handle all the details of a deal with your lender to lower your mortgage payments or save your home from foreclosure. They’ll typically tell you not to contact your lender, lawyer, housing counselor, or credit counselor. They may tell you to make your mortgage payments directly to them — rather than to your lender — or to transfer your property deed to them.
  •   诈骗者会停止回电并把钱带走。如果您聘请自称是律师的人,务必确认此人在您所在州获得许可且信誉良好。仅仅因为某个律师为公司工作,并不意味着公司可以向您收取预付费用,或者这是合法的。
    诈骗者还可能:
    •  承诺为您提供贷款修改
    •  要求您签署自己不明白的文件
    •  告诉您应该开始向房贷服务机构或放贷人之外的其他人付款
    •  告诉您完全停止支付房贷付款

如果有人提出任何这些要求或提议,可通过在线向消费者金融保护局或致电 (855) 411-CFPB (2372) 提出投诉来举报该公司。

如果您怀疑房地产经纪人或销售人员欺诈或虚假陈述加州房贷救济计划,请致电加州房地产局,电话:877-373-4542。如果您认为您的房贷服务机构有不法行为,请电邮 [email protected]您还可以访问住房是关键 网站获取其他信息和资源,帮助发现和报告欺诈行为 Housing is Key .

帮助识别和阻止新冠病毒应对欺诈

人人都有责任帮助阻止欺诈、浪费和滥用,并在发现后及时报告。如果怀疑有或可能有欺诈的情况,请向财政部总监察长办公室调查服务处报告。要阻止有人想通过疫情救济资金致富,最佳的方式就是共同努力。我们可以共同帮助确保这笔资金按预期方式使用,即帮助我们国家受到冠状病毒疫情影响的房主。

报告欺诈或其他犯罪活动的指控

要向财政部总监察长办公室调查服务处报告确定或疑似的欺诈,可访问 https://oig.treasury.gov/report-fraud-waste-and-abuse.
根据《州行政手册》第 20080 节“实际或疑似欺诈和违规行为的通知”,各实体必须将所有实际或疑似欺诈、盗窃或其他违规行为的情况通知州审计与评估办公室 (OSAE) 和州审计员。
网站要向州审计员报告确定或疑似的欺诈,可访问 www.auditor.ca.gov/hotline.

加州审计员热线

电话:800-952-5665

电话: 916-322-3360

传真:916-322-2603

Investigations California State Auditor

P.O. Box 1019

Sacramento, CA 95812

Stay Safe and Avoid Scams

Stay Safe and Avoid Scams

 

Scammers may try and trick you into thinking they can help you with your mortgage payments, usually for a fee. Mortgage rescue scammers may falsely tell you they can help modify your loan or provide other relief to avoid foreclosure, again usually by asking for money up front. By keeping the three facts below in mind, you can better protect yourself from becoming a victim.

 

1

The California Mortgage Relief Program is provided as a free service by the CalHFA Homeowner Relief Corporation. There is no cost to apply, and you are not required to pay any fees, for any reason.

 

2

The financial help you receive never has to be paid back. The money awarded is in the form of a grant which means it does not need to be repaid.

 

3

The money awarded to you will be sent directly from the California Mortgage Relief Program to your loan servicer to completely reinstate your past-due amount.

Scammers may pressure you to act immediately. Resist the pressure to act immediately.

The foreclosure process is slow and complex and involves several legal processes which must be completed before you risk losing your home; this gives you time to apply for assistance. When in doubt, contact your mortgage loan servicer through a trusted form of communication. Your monthly mortgage statements are a great place to look for their contact information.

 

Other tactics scammers may use:

  •  Scammers may want you to pay only by cashier’s check or wire transfer. Scammers like you to pay this way because it’s hard to get your money back.
  •  Scammers may try to convince you to transfer the deed to your home to them. The deed is the legal document that proves who owns the home.
  •  Scammers come up with different stories to pressure you into paying them. Knowing some of their come-ons can help you avoid them.
  •  What scammers say: They’re housing counselors, they’re lawyers, they represent a law firm, or they’re from the government. The scammers say they’ll handle all the details of a deal with your lender to lower your mortgage payments or save your home from foreclosure. They’ll typically tell you not to contact your lender, lawyer, housing counselor, or credit counselor. They may tell you to make your mortgage payments directly to them — rather than to your lender — or to transfer your property deed to them.
  •  The scammer stops returning your calls and takes off with your money. If you hire someone who says they’re a lawyer, make sure the lawyer is licensed in your state and reputable. Just because a lawyer works for the company doesn’t mean the company can charge you an upfront fee or that it’s legitimate.
    Scammers may also:
    •  Promise to get you a loan modification.
    •  Ask you to sign papers that you do not understand.
    •  Say you should start making payments to someone other than your servicer or lender.
    •  Tell you to stop making mortgage loan payments altogether.

If anyone has made any of these requests or claims, you can report that company by submitting a complaint with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau online or by calling (855) 411-CFPB (2372).

If you suspect fraud or misrepresentation of the California Mortgage Relief Program by a real estate broker or salesperson, call the California Department of Real Estate at 877-373-4542. If you believe your mortgage servicer is acting unlawfully, contact the Department of Financial Protection and Innovation through email at [email protected]. You can also visit the Housing is Key website for other information and resources to help detect and report fraud.

Help Us Identify and Stop Coronavirus Response Fraud

We all have a responsibility to help deter fraud, waste, and abuse and report it when discovered. If you suspect fraud or something that could be fraud, report it to Treasury OIG’s Investigation Services. Working together is the best way to stop those who seek to enrich themselves with pandemic relief funds. Together, we can help ensure that this funding is used as intended: helping our nation’s homeowners impacted by the coronavirus pandemic.

Report Allegations of Fraud or Other Criminal Activity

You may report identified or suspected fraud to the Treasury OIG’s Investigation Services at https://oig.treasury.gov/report-fraud-waste-and-abuse.
Per the State Administrative Manual, section 20080, Notification of Actual or Suspected Frauds and Irregularities, entities must notify the OSAE and the State Auditor of all cases of actual or suspected fraud, theft, or other irregularities.
You may report identified or suspected fraud to the State Auditor at www.auditor.ca.gov/hotline.

California State Auditor Hotline

Phone: 800-952-5665

Phone: 916-322-3360

Fax: 916-322-2603

Investigations California State Auditor

P.O. Box 1019

Sacramento, CA 95812